• Music Video
 • Rock & Prog
 • Metal
 • Jazz
 • Electronica & New Age
 • Blues
 ÷ Pop
 • Classical music
 • Other Styles
 • Needledrops
 ÷ Releases
 - Archive
Pop: Christina Aguilera - Bionic (Deluxe Edition, 2010)
  ' ...' | Wed, 21 Jul 2010 16:29:16 GMT | :  
Christina Aguilera - Bionic
: Christina Aguilera
: Bionic, 2010
: RCA / 71491
: Pop, Electronica
: EAC, Covers, RAR
: CD
: eDonkey/Kademlia
: thanks to gulix
 1. Bionic (3:21)
 2. Not Myself Tonight (3:06)
 3. Woohoo (featuring Nicki Minaj) (5:28)
 4. Elastic Love (3:34)
 5. Desnudate (4:25)
 6. Love & Glamour (Intro) (0:11)
 7. Glam (3:40)
 8. Prima Donna (3:26)
 9. Morning Dessert (Intro) (1:33)
10. Sex for Breakfast (4:49)
11. Lift Me Up (4:07)
12. My Heart (Intro) (0:19)
13. All I Need (3:33)
14. I Am (3:52)
15. You Lost Me (4:18)
16. I Hate Boys (2:24)
17. My Girls (featuring Peaches) (3:08)
18. Vanity (4:22)
19. Monday Morning (3:55)
20. Bobblehead (3:02)
21. Birds of Prey (4:20)
22. Stronger than Ever (4:16)
23. I Am (Stripped) (3:54)

Review: by Stephen Thomas Erlewine
Subtlety not being part of Christina Aguileras vocabulary, she trades the retro-swing of Back to Basics for the future-pop of Bionic, receiving assists from a roster that reads like a whos-who of progressive pop in 2010: M.I.A., Le Tigre, Peaches, and John Hill & Switch, known for their work with Santigold. But like the half-cyborg/half-diva illustration of the album cover, this revamp is only partial. Aguilera hedges her bets by adding a ballad from old friend Linda Perry, gets Tricky Stewart to produce a trio of cuts, drafts Polow da Don and Focus... to produce some heavy and slow R&B, respectively, letting enough air into the machines to reassure hesitant fans that she hasnt abandoned her roots. All this hesitancy means that for as many risks as it takes, Bionic doesnt feel daring. Apart from the stuttering opener of the title track and glassy chill of "Elastic Love," notably the two Hill & Switch productions, this never delivers the future shock it promises, but thats not necessarily a bad thing, because the robot-diva hybrids are often interesting even when they stumble, as they do on "WooHoo," its incessant title loop piercing like a dental drill. Exhibit A in Xtinas curious tin ear for sex, "WooHoo" doesnt work as temptation, not when the chorus come-on is "licky licky yum yum," but her crassness is no longer alienating as it was on Stripped; its simply part of her persona, just like her shameless narcissism, showcased on the closing "Vanity," where she gets her kid to confirm that shes the greatest of them all. This triumphant self-possession comes so naturally to Christina that its hard not to wish that she acted so boldly throughout Bionic, letting the entirety of the record be as distinctly odd as its best moments. Frankly, the deluxe edition of Bionic does suggest what the album could have been: its supplemented by four bonus songs that are wildly imaginative, whether its the clattering, chanting "Bobblehead," the cool synth glide of "Birds of Prey," the perfect new wave pop of "Monday Morning," or Sias mournful ballad "Stronger Than Ever." In their place on the album proper are competent, relatively colorless club odes to fashion and fabulousness and Perrys boring inspirational "Lift Me Up," songs that play to Aguileras persona without inhabiting it. The rest of Bionic - not just the hipster flirtations and Sias trio of richly ruminative AAA ballads, but the tracks directly within Aguileras wheelhouse, like Tricky Stewarts wildly successful, slinky "Desnudate," and the sultry slow burner "Sex for Breakfast" - find Christina not playing to expectations but simply acting as a natural diva and is all the more compelling for it.